Journey Announces Changes To The Band

Did you see this Journey shake-up??

Hang onto your hats Journey fans! Founding member Neal Schon announced on May 23rd long-time members bass player Ross Valory and drummer Steve Smith are officially out, the rhythm section is now Journey alum (and American Idol judge!) Randy Jackson along with another Bay Area music legend on drums Narada Michael Walden! There’s another new guy too, composer Jason Derlatka who will join long-time Journey member Jonathan Cain on keyboards, Neal on guitar and Arnel Pineda on vocals! The current Journey crew made their debut playing Don’t Stop Believing’ at a Unicef event, watch the video below!

I have known Neal Schon a long long time and I can tell you he is dedicated to the Journey entity with his heart and soul. He lives and breathes the music and does not ever ever stop believin’ in keeping the band together no matter what storms may arise. I think Randy and Narada (drummer with Jeff Beck, Mahavishnu Orchestra plus Grammy-award winning producer behind legendary projects like Aretha Franklin’s Who’s Zoomin’ Who and Whitney Houston’s How Will I Know) are fantastic musicians who are connected to the Journey story and will absolutely jam. Don’t count them out! 

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content